Full Version : ** Sansui AU-X1 Ebay Fraud **
soundt >>The Classifieds >>** Sansui AU-X1 Ebay Fraud **


<< Prev | Next >>

BeatleFred- 06-25-2007
It looks like Henry Louis is back on Ebay trying to sell his fake Sansui and Accuphase amplifiers, for example:

http://cgi.ebay.com/BEAUTIFUL-RARE-SANSUI-...1QQcmdZViewItem

I hope that no one makes the mistake of buying anything from him, (as I once did, an AU-X1 that was badly tampered with).

Unfortunately, it always a hassle to report him to Ebay and to get them to do anything about it. He usually gets suspended at some point, only to come back again and reregister under another username.

I'm sure some folks here might be tempted to get an AU-X1, but I strongly advise, dont ever buy anything from him, you'll only be sorry and lose your money.

dingus- 06-26-2007
i wouldnt know any better by the auction. other than known past practices of the seller, how would one be able to tell that these are fraudulent?

also, i moved this thread as i think it is better suited in the Classifieds.

BeatleFred- 06-26-2007
The seller is a well-known crook who has been kicked off Ebay many times before.
His whole story and my experience with him has been written about on AudioKarma when I used to be a member there. If anyone wants more Info, they can find it in the archived messages in the 'Exclusively Sansui' forum. Ive also heard from other people in the past couple of years who have had bad experiences with Henry Louis. I happen to live fairly close to him, and I met him when I bought my AU-X1, so I know what I'm talking about.

Even if any of his amps that are on Ebay now might be legitimate, given his past record of deceiving people (selling amps with fake output transistors, etc), I wouldnt give this guy the time of day to consider buying anything he sells. But if someone else feels otherwise, its their choice. I'm simply making it known that he is a shady character to any of members here who dont know him.

I dont see a problem with this thread being in the 'General' section, as it would probably be seen by more people, but if you felt compelled to move it, so be it.
I can always post the same Info on the www.sansui.us forum which I Moderate,
thus can post it wherever I see fit.

hifi_nut- 06-26-2007
Thanks for the heads-up, Fred.

He´s only got 10 feedbacks now, and all positive. soundt/confused-smiley-013.gif

Jorge

dingus- 06-26-2007
QUOTE (BeatleFred @ June 25, 2007 10:46 pm)
I dont see a problem with this thread being in the 'General' section ...

yeah, i'm probably splitting hairs but the focus is on a potential ebay purchase.

dingus- 06-26-2007
QUOTE (BeatleFred @ June 25, 2007 10:46 pm)
The seller is a well-known crook who has been kicked off Ebay many times before.

<snip>

Ive also heard from other people in the past couple of years who have had bad experiences with Henry Louis. I happen to live fairly close to him, and I met him when I bought my AU-X1, so I know what I'm talking about.

Even if any of his amps that are on Ebay now might be legitimate, given his past record of deceiving people (selling amps with fake output transistors, etc), I wouldnt give this guy the time of day to consider buying anything he sells.

<snip>

at one time ebay had 'caveat emptor' displayed prominently on their pages (dont see it now). thats always good advice, but this is info could save someone like me several hundereds of dollars.

Jim Eck- 06-26-2007
Thanks for the headsup Fred.


Jim

Free Forum Hosting by Forumer.comTM!